Brett Sadler

Hotdesking – good, bad or indifferent?

mobile_office

A selection of my ‘hotdesking’ tech

Hotdesking is not a new concept. It comes in many forms, from the occasional hotdesker to the hard-core, full time hotdesker and it wouldn’t surprise you to read that not everyone is a fan of hotdesking. Some people love it and some people really hate it. Here is just one article about hotdesking from the Management Today website: hotdesking: hot or not?.

My reason for blogging about hotdesking is that, for the past six months I have been sharing my office with one of the Directors (incidentally, I am not line managed by them). The option came up due to the reshuffling of some staff within the organisation. As part of the deal, I agreed to hotdesk from somewhere else in the building every Monday and then from an outlying office every Thursday. This helped me in two ways: 1) I would actually have a reason to hotdesk (it’s hard to justify when your office is sat empty) and 2) To live the hotdesking way of working I have often pushed onto other staff .

First off, the positives:

  • It has been great to get out and about more – I have interacted with other staff much more than I would normally have the opportunity to;
  • I have seen and heard some good and some not so good working practices – learning I can use when the time is right to improve these sorts of things within my teams;
  • I have worked (survived) hotdesking from various locations;
  • Using headphones can block out a lot of everyday office chatter.

grabbag-03_22_2013-2

There have been however a few negatives:

  • As I have a pretty busy role, I have not been able to keep to my ‘Mondays and Thursday’s hotdesking regime’, especially working from the outlying office – this has been much more ad-hoc than I would ideally like and often less than a day a week;
  • As with anyone who hotdesks, my laptop bag has inevitably become heavier and heavier with papers etc. that I need during my working day (this needs culling fairly regularly to keep it manageable);
  • Sometimes it really is hard to have quiet time to work/think when hotdesking in a larger office;
  • Sometimes finding a ‘private’ office can be difficult at short notice.

A few other things are worth pointing out:

  • I have been essentially paperless for several years now, but as the organisation I work in is not paperless, I am given my fair share of paper. This proves more of a challenge when not always office based;
  • I have all the necessary tech to make hotdesking a success: laptop, tablet, bluetooth keyboard (for use with the tablet) and smartphone.

So, what have I learn’t from this six months? That it is certainly possible to hotdesk on a more regular basis and that staff seem to appreciate seeing me around more. It is definitely something I want to continue doing. In fact, I am now going to work out how I can hotdesk from other locations more often than I do currently. I also realise I need to keep some flexibility of where I work, depending on work demands and meetings.

I realise this is only my experience of hotdesking in a small way, but I thought I would share my thoughts on this. I would love to hear what everyone else’s experience of hotdesking is, good, bad or indifferent?

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Hotdesking – good, bad or indifferent?

  1. I hotdesk when I’m up in North Wales. I usually find that it’s the tea run that helps me make friends! But it’s always good to sit somewhere different and hear different perspectives. One thing that troubles me a little bit is when only a small available of desks are available to hotdesk on and they’re shunted out of the way in a corner. There are useful bonds to be made with management etc, and to create some more transparency by sitting management amongst staff, but often hierarchies are left unaffected. It’s a catch 22 though, as I’ve heard some people say they feel a little bit more constrained if management are sitting next to them and it changes the office environment. We held a seminar on agile working before I started in my role, and this is where HR and IT experts really earn their money! (http://www.audit.wales/events/agile-working-seminar). Nice blog, keep uup the good work! Dyfrig

Leave a Reply

alicejanesmithblog

It's all about Housing

rosswilliams79

My thoughts.

markedlowe

Just a few words about housing, Excel and stuff

All about Marketing and Comms

Pearls of wisdom on various aspects of marketing

Evie Copland

Commercial head with a social heart: Part of #TeamDGHP, #RisingStarsCIH finalist 2016 - lover of social housing, the courteeners, sunshine and good times

Peter Hall

Thoughts on Leadership, Housing, Innovation and other stuff

Our Castle's Strength

A blog about housing, home, and the hearth.

4,000 bricks

A place for housing, communications and political debate

Roommy writes

"All that glitters is not digital"

Connected Housing

Digital business design for Housing

AdeCapon's Blog

All things digital, marketing, football and happenings

Neeley School MBA Voices

A candid look at MBA life at TCU

Leadership and Management / Turning Adversity to Advantage

Do the Right Things Right / Embrace Failure

digital adactus housing

Updates and all things digital at Adactus Housing Group

Neil Tamplin's Blog

IT & general techie type working in the Social Housing sector. Interested in ResponsiveOrg, Future Of Work & Innovation.

The SH Lawyer

The honest thoughts of a lawyer

social for the people

government social media training

John Popham's Random Musings

"Just trying to matter"

