Brett Sadler

Digital Influence In #ukhousing (and Beyond)

influencer

Just what is digital influence? There are social media metric tools that reportedly measure digital influence, including Klout and Kred. I’ve used both of these before. My Klout rating in particular has steadily reduced over the month of August (I’ve not been very active on social media) so it’s fallen from 57 down to 49. Has this meant that I am any less influencial? Well that depends on how you measure influence in the first place. There are many doubters of Klout (me included – I blogged about it some time ago here) but it does mean that you can ‘measure’ yourself against other like-minded or influential people.

klout_me

I was also lucky enough to be in the top 50 Digital Power Players 2014 list produced by Paul Taylor and Shirley Ayres, in conjunction with 24 Housing Magazine – a kind of ‘digital influencer’ list. This was a great honour, despite some of the negative comments that followed about it being a closed list. It’s a digital list, so if by being closed you mean it excluded anyone not digitally connected, then I guess it was. But I’ve always maintained that I’ve learnt a lot from being digitally connected and will continue to do so.

But social media continues to amaze me in that even if I think nobody is listening to what I say, people it seems always are. I’ve lost count of the number of times people who follow me on Twitter have commented on something I’ve tweeted previously, when to all intense and purpose it had no reaction at all at the time (it was not favourite or retweeted). But having a tweet favourite or retweeted is just one measure of influence. I’ve been told by some that they do follow my tweets and what I say, but if I hadn’t had the real world conversation, I may never have known this. Is this real digital influence?

So to get back to my original question – just what is digital influence? Digital influence for me is having someone (anyone?) listen to what you say, take it on board and use it in the future. I would never say that I’m an influential person really – I just do what I do because I like it. I love being connected to people that I wouldn’t otherwise be able to speak to – I’d guess over 90% of my Twitter followers are people I’ve never met face-to-face and probably never will. I’d also say that a healthy % of who I follow are not working directly in #ukhousing which gives some nice variety to my twitter feed.

I have said on many occasions that Twitter is my connection to the wider world – I get best practice tips, pick up on new innovations and hear up-to-the-second news and views on things that I would otherwise miss. I wouldn’t change that for anything.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

alicejanesmithblog

It's all about Housing

rosswilliams79

My thoughts.

markedlowe

Just a few words about housing, Excel and stuff

All about Marketing and Comms

Pearls of wisdom on various aspects of marketing

Evie Copland

Commercial head with a social heart: Part of #TeamDGHP, #RisingStarsCIH finalist 2016 - lover of social housing, the courteeners, sunshine and good times

Peter Hall

Thoughts on Leadership, Housing, Innovation and other stuff

Our Castle's Strength

A blog about housing, home, and the hearth.

4,000 bricks

A place for housing, communications and political debate

Roommy writes

"All that glitters is not digital"

Connected Housing

Digital business design for Housing

AdeCapon's Blog

All things digital, marketing, football and happenings

Neeley School MBA Voices

A candid look at MBA life at TCU

Leadership and Management / Turning Adversity to Advantage

Do the Right Things Right / Embrace Failure

digital adactus housing

Updates and all things digital at Adactus Housing Group

Neil Tamplin's Blog

IT & general techie type working in the Social Housing sector. Interested in ResponsiveOrg, Future Of Work & Innovation.

The SH Lawyer

The honest thoughts of a lawyer

social for the people

government social media training

John Popham's Random Musings

"Just trying to matter"

