Brett Sadler

Powerplayers14 – much more than just a list

Image

I was unsure whether to write this blog, but I can resist no longer. You see, I’ve got a slight problem with the alternative Powerplayers list (#powerplayers14), much the same as the main Powerplayers list from 24Housing magazine earlier this year.

Now I follow Paul Taylor’s blogs and tweets pretty closely and I think the alternative power players list for 2014 is a great idea. I certainly had a good look at the list for 2013. I’m just amazed how hung up people can become about the list, rather than the opportunities it represents.

I’m the first to admit that I’d be more than happy (and honoured) to appear in the alternative power players list, but if I am really honest, I kind of don’t really care. I’ve never been on a list before and I’m pretty sure that being on a list in the future won’t irrevocably change my life either.

For me, I’ll still try to do the best I can each and every day at work. I know what things I’m interested in and what makes me tick, I know which people I admire in the #ukhousing world (I’ve voted in the power players list) and ultimately where I want to get to in my career. Whether ultimately someone appears in the list or not is immaterial. It’s the conversations that happen before and after the list that really count. One’s like this:

These conversations are important. They are challenging the norm in #ukhousing, rather than accepting it for what it is. They are (potentially) getting to the nub of some of the issues. Ade Capon (@adecapon) summed it up well for me:

It’s about influence, collaboration, community, support etc. plus

all the engagement possible with customers.

I think it’s rather too easy to dislike or ridicule something, when ultimately it’s another platform to have some grown up and constructive discussion on the issues that matter, aided by some of the most influential #ukhousing people around.

For me, the people I voted for in the power players list were people who have influenced me on a personal and professional basis through social media. They are ones that I may have only met once but have conversed with lots of times through social media. They’ve helped me to question some of the norms I had always previously accepted and ultimately for me to develop further. For that, I thank them, whether they appear in the final power players list or not!

I also could have come up with a giant list of power players as there are a whole ruck of people out there who have influenced me, but that would definitely have been a lot more than 50!

With the near torrent of nominations now coming in through social media for nominee’s, its hats off from me to both Paul Taylor (@paulbromford) and Shirley Ayres (@shirleyayres). It will be no easy task to collate all of the replies!

Here’s to the discussion continuing……..

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Powerplayers14 – much more than just a list

  1. Brett – thanks for posting this.

    It’s amazing the interest these things generate. I’ve just checked and the #powerplayers14 post is already the 5th most popular thing I’ve done. So – really weirdly – a post about a list that was a mickey take about another list is more popular than 85 other posts I’ve written. Go figure.

    I think there’s something more than mere ego and voyeurism going on here though. I think people are genuinely fascinated with the new and powerful connections that are being made.

    So far there have been very few votes for CEOs – with one notable exception (guess who?). Instead people are voting for people new to the social scene. And people who are definitely not the usual suspects.

    I think you’ve summed it up well. It’s not about a list. It’s about acknowledging that social media is a great leveller – and the opportunities for us all to make new connections are infinite.

    • Thanks for your comment Paul.

      Most people love lists! In fact I started writing something about this in the blog (as I never write lists) but decided against it on this occasion. May well be the basis of a future blog post though 😉

      I’m looking forward to seeing the final alternative 50 – I don’t envy the job you and Shirley have in drawing all of the votes and comments together!

  2. Pingback: Social Media 2015 | Brett Sadler

Leave a Reply

alicejanesmithblog

It's all about Housing

rosswilliams79

My thoughts.

markedlowe

Just a few words about housing, Excel and stuff

All about Marketing and Comms

Pearls of wisdom on various aspects of marketing

Evie Copland

Commercial head with a social heart: Part of #TeamDGHP, #RisingStarsCIH finalist 2016 - lover of social housing, the courteeners, sunshine and good times

Peter Hall

Thoughts on Leadership, Housing, Innovation and other stuff

Our Castle's Strength

A blog about housing, home, and the hearth.

4,000 bricks

A place for housing, communications and political debate

Roommy writes

"All that glitters is not digital"

Connected Housing

Digital business design for Housing

AdeCapon's Blog

All things digital, marketing, football and happenings

Neeley School MBA Voices

A candid look at MBA life at TCU

Leadership and Management / Turning Adversity to Advantage

Do the Right Things Right / Embrace Failure

digital adactus housing

Updates and all things digital at Adactus Housing Group

Neil Tamplin's Blog

IT & general techie type working in the Social Housing sector. Interested in ResponsiveOrg, Future Of Work & Innovation.

The SH Lawyer

The honest thoughts of a lawyer

social for the people

government social media training

John Popham's Random Musings

"Just trying to matter"

