Brett Sadler

There’s a #commshero in all of us

Image
With a few weeks to go until the above event, I thought I’d put a few of my thoughts down prior to attending the first ever #commshero event in Manchester on the 13th May (here’s a link to the website).

For any of you that don’t know, #commshero is the idea of Asif Choudry (twitter handle @asifchoudry) whom probably most, if not all of #ukhousing already know of. To say he’s well connected just doesn’t do him justice!

So, first things first. Why exactly am I attending #commshero? After all, my job is as Assistant Director of Neighbourhoods. I don’t formally look after communications with my organisation and ‘communication’ is not directly mentioned once in my role profile.
But I am really interested in communications. I can see the benefits, both on a personal and an organisational basis. Everyone needs to communicate effectively. One thing that always comes up as an issue within organisations I’ve worked in is the difficulties in communicating well. This can be between staff, the leadership, board members and tenants.

I’m only after a snippet of good practice in how to improve this within my current organisation. That alone would make it worthwhile me attending #commshero.

Another reason is that I love the vibe within the #ukhousing #comms community. It’s a positive, can-do, anything is possible kind of vibe. Just the sort of thing I like and want to be part of. I’ve used Twitter through the #comms and #ukhousing hashtags to ask lots of questions from other professionals and I’ve been blown away by the responses I’ve had. People are just willing to give their time, views and professional experiences (as long as you ask nicely!).

Just look at the invitation I received for the event:

Image

It’s amazing! I love it because it’s different, it’s colorful and it’s inviting. These are just some of the things that I think #ukhousing is more in need of. Amongst many things, I’m a big fan of innovation (here’s an earlier blog on this) and doing things differently and #commshero is in the same vain.

No pressure, but I’m expecting big things from #commshero when I attend. I’m expecting a similar feeling to when I attended my first #hgd13 event in Liverpool, where I came away totally energised and enthused – I felt I could have taken the world on all by myself and this lasted for days and days. Let’s see how long it lasts after the #commshero event!

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “There’s a #commshero in all of us

  1. Great post Brett, thanks for sharing.

    You touched on an interesting and sometimes forgotten point. Communication is everyone’s business, not just the comms team. Likewise, aware comms folk make sure they have a good knowledge of business strategy in order that they can appropriately advise and support, protect reputation and provide creative campaigns.

    I wondered if you had considered attending the #commshero event with your comms lead?

    • Thanks for the comment Phil.

      I’ll certainly be a #commshero tomorrow. Would be good to catch up tomorrow?

      Comms is for everyone. Everyone just doesn’t realise it (or accept it) yet.

Leave a Reply

alicejanesmithblog

It's all about Housing

rosswilliams79

My thoughts.

markedlowe

Just a few words about housing, Excel and stuff

All about Marketing and Comms

Pearls of wisdom on various aspects of marketing

Evie Copland

Commercial head with a social heart: Part of #TeamDGHP, #RisingStarsCIH finalist 2016 - lover of social housing, the courteeners, sunshine and good times

Peter Hall

Thoughts on Leadership, Housing, Innovation and other stuff

Our Castle's Strength

A blog about housing, home, and the hearth.

4,000 bricks

A place for housing, communications and political debate

Roommy writes

"All that glitters is not digital"

Connected Housing

Digital business design for Housing

AdeCapon's Blog

All things digital, marketing, football and happenings

Neeley School MBA Voices

A candid look at MBA life at TCU

Leadership and Management / Turning Adversity to Advantage

Do the Right Things Right / Embrace Failure

digital adactus housing

Updates and all things digital at Adactus Housing Group

Neil Tamplin's Blog

IT & general techie type working in the Social Housing sector. Interested in ResponsiveOrg, Future Of Work & Innovation.

The SH Lawyer

The honest thoughts of a lawyer

social for the people

government social media training

John Popham's Random Musings

"Just trying to matter"

