Brett Sadler

2000 tweets – What I’ve Learnt

Image

I have just passed the 2,000 tweet mark. In some ways I can’t believe I have tweeted that many, although in fairness, many of them have also been retweets!

So, in the best part of a 2 year period, that means I’ve sent roughly 85 tweets per month.

My ‘Twitter vital statistics’ are:

  • I’ve got over 700 followers;
  • I’m following nearly 850 people;
  • I’ve been listed 27 times;
  • I’ve had a fair % of re-tweets;
  • I’ve had a fair % of favourited tweets;
  • According to Tweetreach my last 50 tweets have had an estimated reach of over £15k accounts.

I’m pretty pleased if I’m honest. I didn’t have an expectation that anyone would particularly follow me. I just wanted to learn how to use the platform as best as possible and to talk to as many people as possible. But I guess these are all fairly meaningless stats compared to what I’ve learn’t from using Twitter over these two years. These are my five take-aways:

  1. I’ve found my voice – I can’t underestimate this point really. I’m not the most vocal person you’ll meet in life, but Twitter has really helped me to become more vocal. I’ve even taken this a step further to start writing this blog. There is no stopping me now.
  2. Virtual Friends – I’ve connected with people through Twitter that I’ve never met face-to-face. I’ve gone on to meet some of them ‘in real life’ as well! As we already knew something of each other through Twitter, this made that first face-to-face meeting all the easier.
  3. Up to the second news and views – I’m connected to news via Twitter by the second. It’s staggering what you can learn from a quick view of your Twitter feed. At the moment, amongst other things, I’m able to track real-time how the storms have affected North Wales.
  4. Best Practice – I’ve often used Twitter to ask followers a question or for advice on work related matters. Inevitably I have received a decent reply rate as well.
  5. Part of a community – Just as it says really. I honestly do feel part of the #ukhousing Twitter community. Every single day.

So they are my quick fire five twitter take-aways.

I wonder whether the five takeaways above will change when I reach 3,000 tweets or more?? I’ll let you know……

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

alicejanesmithblog

It's all about Housing

rosswilliams79

My thoughts.

markedlowe

Just a few words about housing, Excel and stuff

All about Marketing and Comms

Pearls of wisdom on various aspects of marketing

Evie Copland

Commercial head with a social heart: Part of #TeamDGHP, #RisingStarsCIH finalist 2016 - lover of social housing, the courteeners, sunshine and good times

Peter Hall

Thoughts on Leadership, Housing, Innovation and other stuff

Our Castle's Strength

A blog about housing, home, and the hearth.

4,000 bricks

A place for housing, communications and political debate

Roommy writes

"All that glitters is not digital"

Connected Housing

Digital business design for Housing

AdeCapon's Blog

All things digital, marketing, football and happenings

Neeley School MBA Voices

A candid look at MBA life at TCU

Leadership and Management / Turning Adversity to Advantage

Do the Right Things Right / Embrace Failure

digital adactus housing

Updates and all things digital at Adactus Housing Group

Neil Tamplin's Blog

IT & general techie type working in the Social Housing sector. Interested in ResponsiveOrg, Future Of Work & Innovation.

The SH Lawyer

The honest thoughts of a lawyer

social for the people

government social media training

John Popham's Random Musings

"Just trying to matter"

