Brett Sadler

For the sake of innovation? Yes please

Image

A recent post from Paul Taylor at Bromford has certainly made me think about innovation.

I’ve been guilty at work of pushing innovation – I even made it one of my main priorities on starting my current position as Assistant Director. Of course, it’s very hard to actually be clear on what this means. I can still picture the faces of my Management Team when I said this was one of my main priorities – stunned and confused all in one!!

Of course, I have come to realise over the last 12 months that setting innovation as one of my main priorities was both a difficult thing to do but also a necessary thing. I’m not someone who likes to sit back and do things the same way as they have always been and it’s been over the last 12 months that I’ve realised this. That’s not to say that there is always a different, more innovative way to do some things, but I’m always keen to at least ask the question seriously. I’ve also found that I do like taking a chance from time to time and just going with an idea I’ve had. Another Paul Taylor blog post (reblogged by Helen Reynolds) made me realise I’m like this too.

I know that some of you reading this will be thinking, whats the point of innovation for the sake of it? It does depend on the organisation you are in and the type of person you are. I’m at a time in my life where I’m pretty keen to try and do some things differently.  Not that I’m always able to, but in order for me to feel fulfilled, I need to push.

Organisations like Bromford might not be everyone’s cup of tea, but I really do like seeing how different they choose to be. I might not like every idea or stance that they take, but I can definitely admire the organisation for being clear about their values and for trying different ideas. Their brand stands out and arguably appeals to the type of people they want working in their organisation and they seem to have a definite innovative feel to their organisation.

I’ll finish off with a well-known quote from Albert Eistein:

einstein_quote

It’s certainly one quote I’m going to put on my office wall for inspiration.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “For the sake of innovation? Yes please

  1. Pingback: There’s a #commshero in all of us | Brett Sadler

Leave a Reply

alicejanesmithblog

It's all about Housing

rosswilliams79

My thoughts.

markedlowe

Just a few words about housing, Excel and stuff

All about Marketing and Comms

Pearls of wisdom on various aspects of marketing

Evie Copland

Commercial head with a social heart: Part of #TeamDGHP, #RisingStarsCIH finalist 2016 - lover of social housing, the courteeners, sunshine and good times

Peter Hall

Thoughts on Leadership, Housing, Innovation and other stuff

Our Castle's Strength

A blog about housing, home, and the hearth.

4,000 bricks

A place for housing, communications and political debate

Roommy writes

"All that glitters is not digital"

Connected Housing

Digital business design for Housing

AdeCapon's Blog

All things digital, marketing, football and happenings

Neeley School MBA Voices

A candid look at MBA life at TCU

Leadership and Management / Turning Adversity to Advantage

Do the Right Things Right / Embrace Failure

digital adactus housing

Updates and all things digital at Adactus Housing Group

Neil Tamplin's Blog

IT & general techie type working in the Social Housing sector. Interested in ResponsiveOrg, Future Of Work & Innovation.

The SH Lawyer

The honest thoughts of a lawyer

social for the people

government social media training

John Popham's Random Musings

"Just trying to matter"

