Brett Sadler

The ‘Twitterati’ – what type are you?

Image

I’ve been on Twitter for some 18 months now. It has become a daily obsession (at minimum!), become part of my regular routine and it is fascinating that there seem to be different levels of Twitter users. So I thought I’d have a go at creating some types.

Let me just say from the outset that I’ve made these categories up. They are not grounded in anything factual and certainly not based on any recognised academic viewpoint.

So, what types have I come up with?

Heavy Hitters  – exactly what it says on the tin. Their bio clearly states who they are, what they do and what their posts and interests are. Some examples in Housing are @paulbromford and @nickatkin_hht . No question they are heavy hitters. I wouldn’t dare.

Part-timers – they appear on Twitter sporadically – sometimes bursting in to life with loads of tweets and interaction and then disappearing as quickly as they appeared. They did reply to me before, didn’t they?

Wannabe’s – they’d like to be seen as experts, but in reality they aren’t yet. I’d class myself in here – I’m not up to the heavy hitter category (will I ever be?!) but I do try. Very hard.

Stealthers – these people don’t want to appear to use Twitter as much as they do. They check it regularly but very rarely engage, preferring to graze the Twitter landscape. If you ask one of them of their views of Twitter, they will rarely admit it’s of any use, preferring to scoff and tutt about it instead. But rest assured, they regularly peruse the landscape, so be careful what you say.

Blaggers – we all know them. They are the ones who like to appear that they know what they are talking about, but in reality they don’t. No-one would like to really be in this class, would they?

Corporate – pretty simple really – the organisation Twitter accounts. Some are good, some are bad, but I’ve lumped them all together into one group. Generous of me I know.

And why the title for this post? It was one of the first things I came across at an event I attended, literally days after joining Twitter. Behind the reception desk there was a torn bit of paper taped on the wall with a hastag and twitter handle saying ‘for the Twitterati’. It sounded kind of dangerous, sinister almost. Of course I used the hastag at the event and got some interaction from it, but the title Twitterati really caught my imagination. And for me that’s what Twitter is about. Something different. A platform to try new things, push the boundaries and interact with people I wouldn’t otherwise.

Interestingly, the Oxford dictionary definition of Twitterati (yes, it really is in there) is:

Image

A sign of the times that it’s even in there!!

So the big question is, what Twitterati type are you?

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “The ‘Twitterati’ – what type are you?

  1. Definitely a Stealther….I do like your Twitter graphic, however, in the light of your advice on stealthers, I wonder if you also ‘have to be careful what you image’ – the fact that heat rises means that the top of the glass is actually full of hot air!

Leave a Reply

alicejanesmithblog

It's all about Housing

rosswilliams79

My thoughts.

markedlowe

Just a few words about housing, Excel and stuff

All about Marketing and Comms

Pearls of wisdom on various aspects of marketing

Evie Copland

Commercial head with a social heart: Part of #TeamDGHP, #RisingStarsCIH finalist 2016 - lover of social housing, the courteeners, sunshine and good times

Peter Hall

Thoughts on Leadership, Housing, Innovation and other stuff

Our Castle's Strength

A blog about housing, home, and the hearth.

4,000 bricks

A place for housing, communications and political debate

Roommy writes

"All that glitters is not digital"

Connected Housing

Digital business design for Housing

AdeCapon's Blog

All things digital, marketing, football and happenings

Neeley School MBA Voices

A candid look at MBA life at TCU

Leadership and Management / Turning Adversity to Advantage

Do the Right Things Right / Embrace Failure

digital adactus housing

Updates and all things digital at Adactus Housing Group

Neil Tamplin's Blog

IT & general techie type working in the Social Housing sector. Interested in ResponsiveOrg, Future Of Work & Innovation.

The SH Lawyer

The honest thoughts of a lawyer

social for the people

government social media training

John Popham's Random Musings

"Just trying to matter"

