Brett Sadler

LinkedIn Maps – a really cool tool!

Image

I recently attended a social media masterclass session with Bangor University. It was run by two guys from Ireland who were unbelievably knowledgeable about social media. Amongst the many tips and insights they gave us, they introduced the LinkedIn Maps tool.

Basically the tool maps out your LinkedIn networks. It does it in a very colourful way (yes, it looks very cool in my eyes) as it groups your network contacts together into similar groups.

For one guy who was running the workshop, his network map (which had something like 1500 links) had three main colours, which associated with the different areas that he has worked in. He’d worked overseas and in a few different fields of business. As soon as I saw his network map, I knew I had to have a go!

Later that night at home I typed the weblink into the search bar and clicked ‘authorise app’. It then proceeded to start mapping my network. After some 20 minutes of waiting, I decided to click on the ‘Email me once completed’ link.

The next morning, I opened my Email to find the attached:

Image

Apart from it looking quite messy, I noticed I had eight colours! What did that mean? I figured it was a bad thing, seeing as I have just over 150 links in my network.

That morning I was on the second day of my training, so at the first opportunity, I asked one of the guys running the workshop about my network. Essentially he told me that my network was good. He asked me if I’d worked in lots of different places (to account for some of the different colours), but I haven’t. Either way, he seemed impressed enough with my map.

I’ve since done a bit of research into ‘network theory’ which states that:

‘A network that bridges structural holes will provide network benefits that are in some degree additive, rather than overlapping.’

So, the upshot is that I’ve decided to take it that I’ve got a good LinkedIn network!! Not sure how true that is, but it’s not like I can suddenly change my network contacts…..

I’d highly recommend that you give it a go. For me it really is a very cool addition to LinkedIn. It certainly doesn’t fit with the ‘straight down the line’ kind of approach that LinkedIn seem to offer most of the time.

So, go on, give it a go. Let me know what your network map looks like and if you can beat 8 different colours??

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “LinkedIn Maps – a really cool tool!

  1. Great post Brett, I love the look of your map and keen to give this a go for myself.

    I’ve just tried the link you’ve embedded but it’s not working at the moment. Any ideas, please?

  2. Pingback: LinkedIn Maps – visualise your network | Brett Sadler

Leave a Reply

alicejanesmithblog

It's all about Housing

rosswilliams79

My thoughts.

markedlowe

Just a few words about housing, Excel and stuff

All about Marketing and Comms

Pearls of wisdom on various aspects of marketing

Evie Copland

Commercial head with a social heart: Part of #TeamDGHP, #RisingStarsCIH finalist 2016 - lover of social housing, the courteeners, sunshine and good times

Peter Hall

Thoughts on Leadership, Housing, Innovation and other stuff

Our Castle's Strength

A blog about housing, home, and the hearth.

4,000 bricks

A place for housing, communications and political debate

Roommy writes

"All that glitters is not digital"

Connected Housing

Digital business design for Housing

AdeCapon's Blog

All things digital, marketing, football and happenings

Neeley School MBA Voices

A candid look at MBA life at TCU

Leadership and Management / Turning Adversity to Advantage

Do the Right Things Right / Embrace Failure

digital adactus housing

Updates and all things digital at Adactus Housing Group

Neil Tamplin's Blog

IT & general techie type working in the Social Housing sector. Interested in ResponsiveOrg, Future Of Work & Innovation.

The SH Lawyer

The honest thoughts of a lawyer

social for the people

government social media training

John Popham's Random Musings

"Just trying to matter"

