Brett Sadler

Going ‘Back to the Floor’

Over the past few weeks, I’ve started going ‘Back to the Floor’ within my staff teams.

In truth, I’ve been waiting for the ideal opportunity to do this for some years. I’ve now got quite a large team of over 70 staff within several different teams and based in different locations. This seemed the ideal opportunity and to be honest, from the moment I was offered my new post, I knew it was something I wanted to do early on in my new role, within a new organisation.

Of course, going ‘back to the floor’ is nothing new.

I remember watching the ‘back to the floor’ TV series back in early 2000 and being fascinated by it. I couldn’t believe that a boss could be so far removed from what the front line staff did in a typical day. Of course, the higher up the ladder I’ve got, the more I’ve realised how easy it is to become removed from the front line!

What I’ve found when going ‘back to the floor’ is that staff are looking forward to meeting me and are more than happy to engage with me on a wide range of issues. I make it clear beforehand that I want the day I experience to be ‘as normal as possible’. This means that I also get some quality time speaking to some of my staff and I’ve already picked up a lot.

I’ve found some hidden talent – individuals who I probably wouldn’t have met properly otherwise, but after having met them going ‘back to the floor’, I’ll certainly be keeping an eye out for them. I’ve been able to quiz staff about some of the ideas I’ve got or some of the issues as I see them and their honesty (and challenge!) in particular about what they feel will and won’t work is very refreshing. More than anything though I’d say going ‘back to the floor’ has enabled me to get to know in much more detail what front line staff do day-to-day, the issues they face and what things I can tackle or address to make their roles easier.

Of course there are a few acid tests in the process:

–          Whether the staff are happy with me going ‘back to the floor’from what I’ve been told, they do seem to appreciate it;

–          Whether I am actually able to use the experiences and information I’ve gained to make a positive differenceI guess only time will tell whether I’m able to deliver on this but I’m looking to make this a reality;

–          Whether I’ll keep on going ‘back to the floor’I’ve already booked in more ‘back to the floor’ sessions over the coming months and I hope to make this into an annual thing.

A further bonus to come out of the process to date is that I also seem to have convinced some of my other colleagues to do a similar ‘back to the floor’ exercise, which they have now firmly booked in their diaries as well.

I’m also an avid watcher of ‘Undercover Boss’ and ‘Secret Millionaire’, although I couldn’t get away with going undercover in my current organisation (it’s just not big enough!) and as I’m not a millionaire (in any shape or form!) that’s a no go as well.

Still, never say never………….

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

markedlowe

Just a few words about housing, Excel and stuff

All about Marketing and Comms

Pearls of wisdom on various aspects of marketing

Evie Copland

Commercial head with a social heart: Part of #TeamDGHP, #RisingStarsCIH finalist 2016 - lover of social housing, the courteeners, sunshine and good times

Peter Hall

Thoughts on Leadership, Housing, Innovation and other stuff

Our Castle's Strength

A blog about housing, home, and the hearth.

4,000 bricks

A place for housing, communications and political debate

Roommy writes

"All that glitters is not digital"

Connected Housing

Digital business design for Housing

AdeCapon's Blog

All things digital, marketing, football and happenings

Neeley School MBA Voices

A candid look at MBA life at TCU

Leadership and Management / Turning Adversity to Advantage

Do the Right Things Right / Embrace Failure

digital adactus housing

Updates and all things digital at Adactus Housing Group

Neil Tamplin's Blog

IT & general techie type working in the Social Housing sector. Interested in ResponsiveOrg, Future Of Work & Innovation.

The SH Lawyer

The honest thoughts of a lawyer

social for the people

government social media training

John Popham's Random Musings

"Just trying to matter"

The Dan Slee Blog

Social media, PR and digital communications in the public sector from the co-founder of comms2point0

Kevin Williams

I think therefore I blog

