Brett Sadler

Has Twitter seen its best days?

twitter

Firstly, let me get a disclaimer out of the way…..

I’ve been using Twitter now for nearly 12 months and I use it almost every day. I’ve convinced lots of colleagues to sign up to Twitter and I use it regularly to keep up-to-the-minute with news from the Housing sector and beyond. But I have been asking myself more and more recently whether Twitter has seen its best days?

There are a few signs (for me)…..

The rise and (fairly recent) stumble of Facebook is one. Reports came out in 2011 that Facebook lost nearly 6million users in the US alone and I certainly haven’t read of any resurgence in the use of Facebook since. I know this is a tiny percentage of the overall Facebook users, but who would have forseen this at Facebook’s hayday? Combine this with the not so successful flotation of Facebook on the stock market in 2012, which again was seen by many as a successful forgone conclusion beforehand and all is not so well with Facebook.

By comparison, I’m not reading of any alarm bells regarding Twitter…..

But then, I am wondering how long it might be before we start to hear reports of this nature. For me on a personal level, I’ve noticed less traffic from some people using Twitter. Granted this might just be some of the people I’m following, but as with any innovation, there is always a new one around the corner. The Social Media market is getting more and more competitive, with even more platforms being released every day. You’ve only got to look at some of the daily newspaper websites to see the vast number of social media options available for you to share stories and pictures with others.

social media options

I have also read in the past queries about whether 140 characters for a tweet really is enough to keep people engaged? I’ve got used to the 140 characters, but there are times when I have to lose some of my intended message due to the character limit. I realise that this is probably a fault of mine, but I’m still not willing to abbreviate every word in a sentence just to try and get a point across.

So, I realise that the subject of my post can’t be answered here, I realise I might be in the minority with my comments and I’m quite prepared to be wrong on this. But there it is!

I’d love to know what you think…..

Please leave your comments below

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Has Twitter seen its best days?

  1. Pingback: Social Media 2015 | Brett Sadler

Leave a Reply

alicejanesmithblog

It's all about Housing

rosswilliams79

My thoughts.

markedlowe

Just a few words about housing, Excel and stuff

All about Marketing and Comms

Pearls of wisdom on various aspects of marketing

Evie Copland

Commercial head with a social heart: Part of #TeamDGHP, #RisingStarsCIH finalist 2016 - lover of social housing, the courteeners, sunshine and good times

Peter Hall

Thoughts on Leadership, Housing, Innovation and other stuff

Our Castle's Strength

A blog about housing, home, and the hearth.

4,000 bricks

A place for housing, communications and political debate

Roommy writes

"All that glitters is not digital"

Connected Housing

Digital business design for Housing

AdeCapon's Blog

All things digital, marketing, football and happenings

Neeley School MBA Voices

A candid look at MBA life at TCU

Leadership and Management / Turning Adversity to Advantage

Do the Right Things Right / Embrace Failure

digital adactus housing

Updates and all things digital at Adactus Housing Group

Neil Tamplin's Blog

IT & general techie type working in the Social Housing sector. Interested in ResponsiveOrg, Future Of Work & Innovation.

The SH Lawyer

The honest thoughts of a lawyer

social for the people

government social media training

John Popham's Random Musings

"Just trying to matter"

